Minnesota State University Moorhead MSUM Society of Physics Students
College of Health, Science, & the Environment

Who are We?

The MSUM Society of Physics Students is our campus' chapter of the Society of Physics Students, a national professional association explicitly designed for physics students (We as SPS chapter number 4499 in zone 11). We also have a chapter of the Sigma Pi Sigma physics honors society which usually holds an annual induction ceremony in the spring for physics honors (We are Sigma Pi Sigma chapter number 306).

We are a group of students interested in all things in physics. We meet at 5pm almost every Wednesday (during the school year) in Hagen 305 to discuss issues of the ongoing Physics world and club activities. These activities include physics outreach to local schools and the community (including an annual Physics Show), bringing in speakers, and planning trips to interesting places. We also try to assist all physics majors and minors in career plans and arrange discussion with our Professors on how to present our ideas to various types of audience.

For academic year 2014-15 these following officers and faculty will serve for our chapter:

  • President: Dana Koczur
  • Vice President: Laura Herzog
  • Historian: Wyatt Davis
  • Treasurer: Kyle Salk
  • Sigma Pi Sigma Student Chapter Officer: Andrew Larson
  • Faculty Advisor: Juan Cabanela

Membership is open to any MSUM student, not just physics majors. We run the club based on the Physics Club's Constitution as filed with the MSUM Office of Student Activities.

Social Media

  • Our Chapter's Facebook page is here.
  • Our Chapter's YouTube page is here.
  • Our Chapter's Twitter feed is here.